Baby W: 18 Weeks

Hey Y’all,

I realized that either I’ve always been kind of dumb or the baby really is sucking up all of my useful brain power. I’ve been thinking that I was going to be 19 weeks 6 days at the anatomy scan which is why I’ve been trying to hard to catch up on the blogs. I was actually 18 weeks 6 days at the anatomy scan so I didn’t have to do an extra catch up blog. Anyway, as most of you already know, I had the anatomy scan yesterday and we found out the gender of our sweet Baby W!!! I will be revealing the gender to you a little later, but first I need to go into detail about the events leading up to the scan.

So, I just knew something was going to go wrong. I just did. I could feeeellll it in my bones. I tried to prepare accordingly because of this. The night before, I made sure I had everything in order so that the morning would go smoothly and I would get to my appointment 15 minutes early like they recommend. This was a big day, of course. Anyway, if you know anything about my life in Germany, you know that I have not had a reliable mode of transportation the ENTIRE 10 months that I have lived here. Luckily, I have awesome, wonderful, amazing, helpful, smart and especially beautiful friends to help me out when Kevin is away, as he often is. I foolishly thought, ” Okay, the BMW is running right now, but there is absolutely something wrong with it. Its enough to get me there. It’ll be fine.” Key word there was foolishly -> root word being fool -> derived from the Latin origin meaning “don’t trust that stupid BMW EVER“. Continuing on, I woke up a good 2 hours before my alarm (3:00 am) and was too excited to go back to sleep so I got up and got ready. Finally, I left the house with everything in order with enough time to meet my friend who so generously offered to meet me half way so I wouldn’t have to drive my death trap 40 min away from the house. I get in the car, turn the key aaaannnnnnddddd nothing. SO I turn the key about 4 or 5 more times and still nothing. That STUPID vehicle would not start. At this point I’m on the verge of panicking, but I start calling friends to see if someone could come get me. Turns out my cell phone isn’t calling out….to anyone! I couldn’t get a hold of anyone!! My phone does this occasionally with a number here or there but this time it happened to be everyone I was trying to talk to! The panic rises. Finally, I remember that we have a house phone! Brilliant idea! Its giving me a busy signal for every number I call!! Something was clearly pitted against me this morning. All technology decided that it did NOT want me to go to this appointment. At this point I’m in full on panic mode. It was not pretty and probably pretty unnecessary considering I could have just rescheduled, but I was not rational at this point. Finally, the friend that I was meeting said that she would just drive out to my house to get me because she’s a really, really awesome person. I was convinced that I wasn’t going to make it to my scan and I was never ever ever going to find out the gender of my baby. BUT turns out that we made it there in time with 3 minutes to spare. Three cheers to great friends!

Now on to the baby stuff….there might just be a gender reveal in there somewhere if you’re very nice and eat all of your vegetables.

IMG_2792 edited

How Far Along: 18 Weeks 6 days

Baby Size and Development: Baby W is about the size of a bell pepper – about five and a half inches long and weighs almost 7 ounces! In this stage the baby is flexing it’s muscles and kicking around. It’s ears are in their final position and in a week or so he or she will be able to hear!

Weight Gain: This morning I was weighing right at 10 pounds

Maternity Clothes: Yep, still the same

Stretch Marks: Nope

Sleep: If I’m really exhausted I can sleep all the way through the night. If not I’m still waking up in the wee hours of the morning.

Gender: Here we go people. ARE. YOU. RRREEEEEAAAAADDDDYYYYYY!!!!!

Its a BOY black

Yes its true. We’re having a little boy and we are so excited! I had a really strong feeling that it was a boy pretty much right after I found out I was pregnant. In the last month or so I was really unsure, but now I know that my intuition was right! We can’t wait to meet our guy in March!

Movement: Every once in awhile I’ll think that I’ll feel something, but its not distinct enough to really say if its the baby or if I’m just digesting or something. I found out at my scan that I have an anterior placenta so its in the front of my uterus. Sometimes that can delay feeling movements so it might be awhile longer before I feel the boy wiggling and kicking.

Best Moment of the Week: Obviously it was seeing the baby. I got see so much of him! I saw his brain, heart, bladder, and all his bones. It is so surreal to think that my body made all of that! Its amazing what technology can do these days. Clearly, we love knowing that we are having a little boy. Pregnancy feels more real now and I cannot WAIT to start preparing for his arrival (I love saying his instead of it’s)

Looking Forward to: Buying things to prepare for our little guy! Oh and can’t wait to meet him!

Food Cravings: Nothing right now. My head is still kind of spinning so I haven’t really even thought of food much since yesterday.

Things That Make Me Queasy/Sick: Nothing really

Labor Signs: No way José!

What I Miss: Red wine this week. I just realized that I’m still going to be pregnant for the all the Christmas markets and I’ll have to wait until next year for gluhwein. I’m still pouting.

Symptoms: Nothing as of late

Nursery: Now that we know our boy is coming we can say that the plan is to do the emerald green/black/white color scheme with the slight Gatsby touch. We’ll see if i can pull it off though

Belly Button In or Out: In!

Wedding Rings On or Off: On!

Mood: Other than my borderline panic attack yesterday morning, I’ve been feeling pretty good!

Workouts: I did 50 squats today. Does that count?

Letters to Baby: Baby Boy, We are so happy that we know a little more about you! We know you are the perfect baby for us, specially picked. We can’t wait to meet you and see if you look like your dad and act like me or if its the other way around. Maybe you’ll be a perfect combination of us both. No matter what you are our boy and we love you so.

Love, Mom

Now you know that I’m going to be outnumbered pretty soon! I can’t wait!

Now that I’m caught up on blogs, posting should resume to just one a week again.

Til next time!

-Camille

Monogram 2.jpg

2 thoughts on “Baby W: 18 Weeks

Leave a comment